Horizon Timur

Discourse polemics mainly in Malaysia

Proton Savvy Built Tougher Than You Think – Indeed

with 9 comments

I own a Savvy and I’m very proud of it. Who said Proton cars aren’t good?

May be some of its products are lacking in quality finishing. And may be same of the car parts really bad. For instance, Waja power windows are nightmares to their owners. My father will never again roll down his window since the motor had jammed three times. I pity him everytime he reaches a toll booth; struggling to strech out his hand paying the toll. But not all. My friend still use his Waja power windows (trust me, not occasionally because he smokes).

Anyhow, so far is so good. My Savvy hasn’t done anything that could harm my wallet. The driving is superb for its class. You can feel the smooth suspension engineered for it when taking corners.

I’m not trying to write a review about Savvy or what. Just want to share these pics which I found in the Net (dated way back in 2005).

Proton Savvy Accident

Proton Savvy Accident

Proton Savvy Accident

Proton Savvy Accident

Proton Savvy Accident

My assumption is, the passagers walked out alive from wreckage. You can see how good the side bars inside those doors and the chassis hold up the impact of the accident. It seems the cabin was untouchable. The front was crumpled in but that was what it supposed to do, to reduce the impact of collision (and that’s simple physics). Indeed, Savvy – built tougher than you think…

Before anything, look at the car below…

Savvy in SingaporeIt’s a Proton Savvy in Singapore. Notice the rim? Totally different from my alloy rims, and obviously all Malaysia Savvys’. I read about Savvy in the UK. They have two different specs of Savvy. The better one or Savvy Style is just like ours except with airbags (sigh ;(). Guess, Proton has started treated its fellow citizens better that others.

Written by horizontimur

June 8, 2007 at 5:41 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And it actually still looks good!

    I heard it uses a renault engine, is that true? If yes, great. Better than the our homemade campro – scary.

    Muhammad Yunus

    June 8, 2007 at 8:03 pm

  2. savvy memang teguh dan berkualiti … cuma reka bentuk kelihatan hodoh dan tidak produktif…. maaf sebab terlalu berterus terang ok.

    Siew

    December 16, 2007 at 1:59 pm

  3. I bet this car will be in the second hand car dealer showroom in 2 months time. “Late model, one owner, low milage, never accident, owner needs to sell due to relocation”

    Sam

    October 7, 2008 at 10:04 am

  4. oh common its a tough car. it has 1.2 so power to weight is jus balance. but savvy can have my half salute from me. hope more cars like dat frm proton.

    Sharviin Sasasey

    March 28, 2009 at 11:49 pm

  5. My Proton Savvy 2007 is great i love it but the company/dealer ships/and their so called mechanics well thats another story!! my savvy had it engine light come on a couple of months back according to their mechanics even though all my books/services were up to date and stamped — they said they wouldnt cover my 5 year warranty because they didnt believe it had been done and that it was my responsibility to make sure that my mechanic had done the service correctly — Now im a butcher how am i suppose to to know if its done correctly i just assume that as the mechanic has all his qualification that it has — so they would not do it under warranty — it cost me over $300.00 to fix and now 4 weeks later they same problem has occurred and they still wont cover this issue and now say its going to cost me $2,500.00 to $3,000.00 to fix it — Fair trading say it could take years to go threw the courts system and in the mean time what am i suppose to do -This is why i bought a brand new car this being my very first ever new car THANKS PROTON THANKS FOR MAKING IT THE WORSE EXPERIENCE EVER AND WONT BE RECOMMENDING YOUR SERVICE TO ANYONE!!!! I am sooo disheartened!!!

    tracey

    September 4, 2010 at 4:24 pm

  6. does anyone know a very realiable car dealer in greenwell springs LA ?“,

    Wire Shelving :

    October 27, 2010 at 1:08 am

  7. Tracey…

    I have a same problem too…there have to cost me almost RM6000.00 to fix the problem….

    -cylinder clutch RM3.095.73
    -electro pump RM2006.05
    -seep sensor RM86.70
    -sensor RM193.22 (faulty operation)

    Was two month i still thinking do i fix it…

    masaru

    June 22, 2011 at 2:29 am

  8. I also use Savvy AMT year 2010 (last model of savvy before Proton decide to terminate the savvy manu or what we say model of Merdeka Edition) and so far until now, I don’t have such a big problem at all. Just once I change my spark plug and ignition coil because my car have a jerking problem. After that, my car look good as new…
    My conclutions is – if you take a good care of your Savvy, that car will give you a good performance and a great driving…
    By the way, my car (back bumper) already hit with another car (Reverse) and I did not expect that bumper are not damage at all (and no scratch)! I must admit that savvy is a safety car for Malaysian driver…

    max2_seekers

    April 15, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  9. From Rita Rudner to Mac Cook, Harrah’s has always got someone rockin the house.
    Make guaranteed to follow your hotel associated with preference in online community sites.
    Thirty-two major hotels dot the spot, with lots of other modest ones competing with all the very best.


Leave a Reply

